Maryland Section

Braude Award

The George L. Braude Award,  presented at the October meeting, was established by the Maryland Section in 2003 and underwritten by his wife, Monique Braude, who attended the award dinners until her passing in 2009.  George Braude was a long-time member of ACS; he served as chair of the Maryland Section in 1962, and received the Maryland Chemist Award in 1968.

Both George and Monique Braude felt that he had not had an opportunity to support teaching or to do research in an academic setting.  Therefore Monique Braude created this annual award in her husband’s memory to support a professor conducting outstanding research involving students at a college or university, particularly in the Maryland section.  The recipient receives a plaque describing his/her contributions and a monetary award to help support further student research.  The initial monetary award of $1000 has grown over the years to its present $3500. 

Nominations are accepted in May for a June decision.  Nominees must a member of the ACS, and underrepresented candidates including women are encouraged.  Submit a list or description of the research accomplishments of the nominee, as well as an indication of the number of students involved in that research, to Louise Hellwig via email:


Following is a list of recipients with their affiliation at the time of their award:


2003 Elsa Reichmanis, American Chemical Society

2004 Madeleine Jacobs, American Chemical Society

2005 Robert Caret, Towson University

2006 Catherine Fenseleau, University of Maryland-Baltimore County

2007 Bassam Shakashiri, University of Wisconsin

2008 John Moore, University of Wisconsin

2009 Judith Harrison, United States Naval Academy

2010 Michael Summers, University of Maryland-Baltimore County

2011 Ryan Casey, Towson University

2012 Paul Trulove, United States Naval Academy

2013 Alexis Nagengast, Widener University

2014 Keri-Beth Pettingill, Frederick Community College

2015 Andrew Koch, St. Mary's College of Maryland

2016 Rebekka Klausen, Johns Hopkins University

2017 Tracey Mason, Stevenson University

2018 Jocelyn McKeon, Notre Dame of Maryland University